Share
Updates subscription
Thanks for subscribing!
Subscribe to Made in Russia today and get the most interesting news about Russian business, export and culture today!
Social media and RSS subscription

SAMBO

The world famous Russian military and sporting skill set

Sambo (SAMozashchita Bez Oruzhiya — Self-defense Without Weapons) is a sophisticated system of self-defense developed in the USSR by the synthesis of several national forms of martial arts. The sambo tradition is rooted in the culture of the peoples of Russia and in the native wrestling styles.

16
november
1938
Birth
of Sambo
the sport was recognized by the Sports Committee of the USSR

In the words of Nikolai Medvedev, USSR champion and winner of the World Cup, “Sambo is the philosophy of openness to all that is best and innovative in all national styles of combat.” “Sambo is constantly evolving, updating and fueling itself. It is not an archive, not a compilation of throws and holds. It is a living thing,” said the founder of Sport Sambo Anatoly Kharlamiev, the athlete and instructor whose book Sambo (1938) marked the beginning of the theory and practice of ‘self-defense without weapons’. Sambo is the philosophy of openness to the very best in all national styles of combat. This philosophy is an integral quality of the Russian character.

The roots of Sambo
  • Pugilism,
    Russian wrestling
  • Georgian
    wrestling
  • Tatar
    wrestling
  • Azerbaijani
    wrestling
  • Kazakh
    wrestling
  • Uzbek
    wrestling
  • Finnish-French
    wrestling
  • freestyle
    American
    wrestling
  • English
    wrestling
  • Swiss
    wrestling
  • Japanese judo
    and sumo

The establishment of Sambo as a sports discipline was preceded by the work of Viktor Spiridonov and Vasili Oshchepkov. Spiridonov, a Russian officer and one of the leaders in the fight against organized crime in Soviet Russia, was one the few jiu-jutsu masters of the time.

  • 1940

    Emergence

  • 1946
    1946

    Formal name
    of Sambo

  • 1958

    International debut.
    Brussels, World’s
    Fair Expo ’58

By 1921 he had laid the groundwork for a new ‘system composed of the best practices of existing systems’. Exactly this development, unique for its time, formed the basis of sambo. Spiridonov and his students from the CID actively participated in police operations to wipe out the criminal elements and hot-spots of the day. He created a method of teaching self-defense, which at that time was non-existent in foreign systems.

Sections
of self-defense
open in Dynamo
organizations
under Spiridonov’s
leadership:
  • Leningrad St. Petersburg
  • Ukraine
  • Rostov-on-Don
  • The South Caucasus
  • Sverdlovsk Ekaterenburg
  • Siberia

Vasily Oshchepkov, born in Sakhalin, having practiced judo for many years, gradually began to deviate from the sacrosanct Japanese canons. After the February Revolution of 1917, he became an instructor in the unarmed combat ‘training course for police officers in the city and county police’. He later spent several years in Japan and China, where he became a black belt in judo. Back in Russia he modified and introduced Russian-language terms to judo. He replaced the bow with mandatory handshakes before and after the bout, bringing the sport in line with Russian traditions. He also introduced a division of weight classes. On top of that, he worked to improve combat and self-defense techniques, forming the basis of a new kind of martial arts. Later on Oshchepkov organized competitive matches with Spiridonov’s students, and representatives of several national wrestling styles, primarily those of the Georgian chidaoba.

From the moment of its inception, sambo was seen as an effective means to a person’s comprehensive physical development. It raised one’s agility, strength, endurance, tactical reasoning, and assisted in formation of civic and patriotic fidelity.

1930

In the 1930’s sambo
was included in the training
standards of the TRP

Ready for Labor
and Defense

From an early age millions of Soviet citizens are familiarized with the basics of self-defense without weapons, strengthening their health and building character.

In March of 2013 Russian President Vladimir proposed recreating an analogue to the TRP sports complex. The head of state proposed this idea in a meeting about developing physical education. On March 13, 2013 Vladimir Putin attended the opening of a new building in the Sambo-70 Center.

Sambo World
Championships (2006-09)

gold

silver

bronze

общее количество
медалей
Russia
200
24
82
308
Belarus
12
11
19
43
Bulgaria
12
10
22
44
Ukraine
7
17
26
50
Kazakhstan
4
5
23
31

Today sambo is practiced in 72 countries, with sambo federations in 10 countries. Key discussions about the recognition of sambo as an Olympic sport are in progress.

The Sambo-70 Educational Center is a Russian martial arts school founded in 1970 by the first sambo world champion David Rudman.

Numerous world, European and Russian champions trained and continue to train within the walls of the school. This includes champions in sambo, boxing, sumo, judo, gymnastics, karate, sport dance and other sports. After finishing their competitive careers, graduates of the center go on to work in special units of the MVD, FSB and tax authorities.

30

years

18 000

students

  • 8 are honored masters of sports
  • 47 world-class masters
  • 300 masters of sport
  • 18 honored coaches
  • 5 candidates of pedagogical sciences
Vasili Sergeevich Oshchepkov
Vasili Sergeevich Oshchepkov
Founder of the system

In 1904 Vasili was left an orphan and became a Japanese subject after the Treaty of Portsmouth transferred South Sakhalin to the Japanese in 1905. He was sent to study in Japan, where in September 1907 he studied at the Theological Seminary in the Kyoto Orthodox Mission organized by the future St Nicholas of Japan. He was taught judo and became the best judoka in the seminary. On October 29, 1911, by the instructor’s recommendation, Vasili was admitted to the entrance examination and granted admission to the Kodokan Judo Institute in Tokyo, founded by Jigoro Kano, where he studied in the Tokyo Theological Seminary. On June 15, 1915 Oschepkov received the first master's rank - Shodan (first dan). During a business trip to Japan in October 1917, now as a Russian national, he passed the exams for the second dan, becoming the first Russian and the third European to attain a second dan in judo. It should be noted that at that time there were only 5 dans in judo, not 10 as there are now.

Kharlampiev independently studied national wrestling styles of different nations. He traveled to the Central Asian and Caucasian republics several years in a row to learn the national wrestling styles. He then systematized training techniques and methods. The 1983 film Invincible was based on Kharlampiev’s travels.

Kharlampiev founded athletic schools for education of athletes in sport clubs such as Krylia Sovetov, Dynamo and the Moscow Energy Institute. He trained more than a hundred masters of sports, candidate masters of sport and thousands of lower-class sportsmen.

Brand personalities
Vasili Sergeevich Oshchepkov

Founder of the system

Anatoly Arkadyevich Kharlampiev

One of the founders of wrestling

Поделиться
Подписка на обновления
Благодарим за подписку!
Подпишитесь на обновления «Сделано в России», получите только самые важные новости о российском экспорте, бизнесе и культуре!
Группы в социальных сетях и RSS

САМБО

Российское военно-спортивное ноу-хау, завоевавшее популярность во всем мире

Самбо (акроним, «САМооборона Без Оружия») — это комплексная система самообороны, разработанная в СССР путем синтеза нескольких национальных боевых искусств. Традиции самбо уходят корнями в культуру народов России, в народные виды борьбы.

16
ноября
1938
День рождения
Самбо
вид спорта
был признан Спорткомитетом СССР

По словам Николая Медведева, чемпиона СССР и победителя Кубка мира, «самбо — это философия открытости ко всему лучшему и передовому во всех национальных видах единоборств». «Самбо постоянно развивается, обновляется, подпитывается. Это не архив, не компилятивный сборник бросков и захватов, это живая материя», — говорил основоположник борьбы самбо Анатолий Харлампиев, спортсмен и преподаватель, чья книга «Борьба самбо» (1938) положила начало теории и практике «самообороны без оружия». Самбо — философия открытости ко всему лучшему во всех национальных единоборствах мира. Такая философия — неотъемлимое качество русского характера.

Корни самбо
  • Кулачный бой,
    русская борьба
  • Грузинская
    борьба
  • Татарская
    борьба
  • Азербайджанская
    борьба
  • Казахская
    борьба
  • Узбекская
    борьба
  • Финско-
    французская
    борьба
  • Вольно-
    американская
    борьба
  • Английская
    борьба
  • Швейцарская
    борьба
  • Японское
    дзюдо, сумо

Созданию самбо как спортивной дисциплины предшествовала работа Виктора Спиридонова, российского офицера и одного из лидеров по борьбе с оргпреступностью в Советской России, одного из немногих мастеров джиу-джитсу того времени и Василия Ощепкова.

  • 1940 год

    Возникновение

  • 1946
    1946 год

    Официальное
    название «Самбо»

  • 1958 год

    Международный дебют
    Всемирная выставка
    «Экспо-58». Брюссель

К 1921 году Спиридонов создал фундамент новой «системы, составленной из лучших приёмов уже существующих систем». Именно эта разработка, уникальная для своего времени, легла в основу самбо. Спиридонов вместе со своими учениками из угрозыска, активно участвовал в милицейских операциях по ликвидации притонов и криминальных элементов того времени. Им была создана методика преподавания самозащиты, которая в то время в зарубежных системах ещё отсутствовала.

Под руководством
Спиридонова открываются
секции самозащиты
в динамовских
организациях:
  • Ленинград Санкт-Петербург
  • Украина
  • Ростов-на-Дону
  • Закавказье
  • Свердловск Екатеринбург
  • Сибирь

Василий Ощепков, уроженец Сахалина, много лет практикуя дзюдо, постепенно стал отходить от незыблемых японских канонов. После Февральской революции 1917 года, он становится преподавателем рукопашного боя «Курсов для подготовки милиционеров в городской и уездной милиции», затем несколько лет проводит в Японии и Китае, где становится обладателем черного пояса по дзюдо. В России он изменяет форму, вводит русскоязычные термины. Заменяет поклон, на обязательное рукопожатие до и после схватки, что приблизило спорт к российским традициям, вводит разделение на весовые категории. Кроме этого, он занимается совершенствованием техники борьбы и самозащиты, формируя основы нового вида единоборства. В дальнейшем Ощепков организовывает соревновательные встречи с учениками Спиридонова Виктора Афанасьевича, а также представителями ряда национальных видов борьбы, в первую очередь с борцами грузинской чидаобы.

С момента своего основания самбо рассматривалось как эффективное средство всестороннего физического развития человека, повышения его ловкости, силы, выносливости, воспитания тактического мышления, формирования гражданско-патриотических качеств.

1930

В 1930-х гг. самбо входит
в нормативы комплекса ГТО

Готов к труду
и обороне

Миллионы советских граждан с раннего возраста приобщались к основам самозащиты без оружия, укрепляли здоровье, воспитывали характер.

В марте 2013 года президент России Владимир Путин предложил воссоздать в стране аналог физкультурного комплекса ГТО. Эту идею глава государства озвучил во время совещания по развитию системы физического воспитания. 13 марта 2013 года Владимир Путин принял участие в открытии нового корпуса спортивного комплекса «Самбо-70».

Мировые
чемпионаты самбо (2006–2009)

золото

серебро

бронза

общее количество
медалей
Россия
200
24
82
308
Белорусия
12
11
19
43
Болгария
12
10
22
44
Украина
7
17
26
50
Казахстан
4
5
23
31

Сегодня самбо занимаются в 72 странах мира, федерации самбо имеются в 10 странах. Основная дискуссия ведется за признание самбо в качестве олимпийского вида спорта.

Центр образования «Самбо-70» — российская школа боевых искусств. Основана в 1970 году первым чемпионом мира по самбо Давидом Рудманом.

В стенах школы были воспитаны и продолжают заниматься многочисленные чемпионы мира, Европы и России по самбо, боксу, сумо, дзю-до, гимнастике, каратэ, спортивным танцам и другим видам спорта. Выпускники центра после окончания спортивной карьеры остаются работать в специальных подразделениях МВД, ФСБ и налоговых органов.

30

лет

18 000

воспитанников

  • 8 Заслуженные мастера спорта
  • 47 Мастера международного класса
  • 300 Мастера спорта
  • 18 Заслуженные тренера
  • 5 Кандидаты педагогических наук
Василий Сергеевич Ощепков
Василий Сергеевич Ощепков
Основатель системы

После передачи в 1905 году Южного Сахалина японцам по Портсмутскому миру, оставшийся в 1904 году полным сиротой Василий, как японский подданный, был отправлен на учёбу в Японию, где с сентября 1907 года обучался в Духовной семинарии Киото при православной миссии, организованной будущим святым Николаем Японским. В семинарии преподавалось дзю-до, и по рекомендации тренера, как лучший дзюдоист семинарии, 29 октября 1911 года Василий был допущен к вступительным испытаниям и принят в институт дзюдо Кодокан в Токио, основанный Дзигоро Кано, обучаясь теперь в Токийской духовной семинарии. 15 июня 1913 года Ощепков получил первую мастерскую степень — сёдан (первый дан); уже как подданный России в октябре 1917 года, во время командировки в Японию, сдал экзамены на второй дан, став первым русским и третьим европейцем, получившим второй дан по дзюдо. Следует отметить, что в то время в дзю-до было не 10 данов, как сейчас, а только 5.

Харлампиев самостоятельно изучал национальные виды борьбы разных народов. Несколько лет подряд он выезжал в среднеазиатские и кавказские республики для изучения национальных видов борьбы. Он систематизировал приёмы и методы тренировки. По мотивам этих путешествий А. А. Харлампиева в 1983 году был снят фильм «Непобедимый».

Харлампиев основал школы воспитания спортсменов в таких спортивных обществах, как «Крылья Советов», «Динамо» и Московском энергетическом институте, подготовив более ста мастеров спорта, кандидатов в мастера спорта и тысячи разрядников.

Лица бренда
Василий Сергеевич Ощепков

Основатель системы

Анатолий Аркадьевич Харлампиев

Один из основоположников борьбы